People Tree Sample Sale

I had an opportunity to assist with People Tree sample sale which was held on 6th – 8th April in their London head office. After finding out more about fast-fashion’s impact on environment and garment production workers’ lives I felt that in my future career I would like to concentrate on making a positive change in fashion industry and volunteering was a great way to find out about one of the most ethical and sustainable fashion brands. I spent two days and a half helping to prepare for sale and working in showroom during the event.

1-IMG_20170406_145953855

I was able to to find out more about different roles in the company – I met people from garment technology and PR teams.

Sample sale was more popular then expected – by the end of the first day majority of stock was sold out and it was essential to get more stock from warehouse to continue sale on following days.

5-IMG_20170407_100059972

It is good to know that People Tree garments are made using organic cotton. Although I usually prefer more extravagant apparel style, it was not difficult to pick something for myself – I absolutely love Peter Jensen print shirt and a few other bits that I chose to wear as my uniform.

I especially liked jewellery  which was handmade by artisans in India, Bangladesh, Kenya. As I occasionally make jewellery myself I found it useful to see which items were most popular as well as discovering some unseen techniques.

2-IMG_20170407_0922435043-IMG_20170407_092534021

People Tree sample sale is a great event for customers who can not afford to buy brand’s merchandise on daily basis but would like to shop ethically. Sample sales are usually held twice a year – follow People Tree on Instagram to make sure that you do not miss the next one!

Leave a Reply

